Overwhelmed? Re-assess Your Writing Goals

I’ve talked about deciding where to focus my attentions at whether it be building this blog, my freelancing career or writing fiction.

I’m glad to note there are other writers joining me in re-assessing their writing goals. Recently coming at a crossroads. Knowing that we’ve got to step back before we burn ourselves:

Zoe at Essential Prose

Brenda Emmett at Writing From the Trenches

It’s so important to get clarity. I remember years ago I came upon this line at Steve Pavlina’s uber-popular article that’s probably encased in marble in the hall of self-helpdom: DO IT NOW. I’m like, Pff! This line’s easy. Of course, I know what I want. At that time, I wasn’t even making any attempt to follow my dream. Now I’m just coming to terms with how so many layers are buried in this one quintessential line. I always knew I wanted to be a writer. I just didn’t know there were so many ways to get there.

What happened was that there were just so many things I wanted to do that I didn’t know where to focus my attention. So I’m tinkering here, fiddling a little bit there and basically scurrying all over the place putting out any fire that comes up. My mind has become clouded and cluttered. I’m constantly overwhelmed. There’s no crystal clear clarity, my eyes formed into slits with all their focus on that one single red target on the dartboard and all my system’s tensing to barge right into it screaming, “GO! GO! GO!”

I wasn’t giving it my all. There was no overwhelming force. I wasn’t giving 100%. And I know I’ve been holding myself back. I’m beating myself up because I realized I wasn’t giving it my best. I wasn’t consistently hitting that spot on the wall over and over again until it explodes. Because there were so many things I wanted to do and just so little of me to give. I want to build this blog to create a Googleable presence, to connect and reach out to people, make a difference and a contribution through my stories and my articles. I want to start a freelancing career so that I can finally support myself doing what I love to do. I want to submit my fiction to contests, magazines and ezines so that my characters’ stories would be heard and touch others, that they wouldn’t just live inside me but in other people’s hearts. I want to write fiction so that RIGHT NOW I can start honing and practicing my storytelling skills so that years later I won’t look back with regret and say, “If I had started when I was young, I would have been really good by now and even have some stories published under my belt.”

This weekend, I’m going to take a step back from the pernicious forces surrounding me and pulling me into different directions. Re-assess my writing goals and what single thing I can give my all on. I will force myself to take a deep scary look and reach down deep inside me. Sort out the tangling mess of weaving and smooth them into an organized pattern onto the loom of my mind. Be unflinchingly honest and tell myself, “I’m not perfect. I’d like to be Superwoman but I wasn’t fortunate to be born in the Heroes gene pool. But I can focus all my abilities into one area and be a little extraordinary in it. If Forrest Gump can do it, heck so can I.”

Which one do you really want to focus at the moment? What’s the ONE THING that you know you give a 100% of your attention to, you would definitely succeed and hit that bull’s eye?

Related Posts:

  • Get Yourself a Writing Mentor
  • Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff! Say No to Pen Name Obsessions!
  • Reconnecting with your Muse-Links for Writers
  • Evaluating your Writing Progress
  • Writing Updates- Writers Are Not Very Good at Waiting
  • Share This:

    Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

    2 thoughts on “Overwhelmed? Re-assess Your Writing Goals

    1. Zoe says:

      Kate,

      I can certainly relate. It’s quite easy to lose focus and spread your efforts around, and then nothing feels satisfying.

      I’m trying to focus my energy on my fiction and my blog right now. Of course there’s always that making money technicality, but I don’t want my freelance work to become my main focus.

      Great to know we’re both working through the re-assessment phase!

    2. Kate says:

      Hey Zoe!

      We’re in the same vein with our goals on fiction writing and focusing on our blogs.

      Glad you dropped by and took a break from your elephant viewing. So true on losing focus. I’ve been striving to visualize and get rid of my clutter all day today (and squeeze in some lesson planning and emailing to boot). Hope to share my experience with you guys soon.

      Good luck on your re-assessment phase as well!

    Leave a Reply

    