The Devil Wants You Dead – 1

cigarrette-noirOne of us got killed tonight.

I don’t know who did it. All I know is that I was doing some checking on the spreadsheets then suddenly the phone rang. A voice pierced in through the dull disinfected air of my cubicle –hoarse, out of breath —

“He’s coming for us, John.”

“Slow down, Ben. Who—“

“He’s after me. There’s no stopping him. Oh my god! Fuck!”

Then he was gone. The line went dead.

I told Susie this after work. She was washing the dishes, a thoughtful look in her eyes.

“Who could it be?”

“I’ve got a theory.” I lit a cigarette.

She waited.

“I think it’s one of us.”

She whirled around, her right eye flashing into a fiery amber liquid gold then quickly it subsided to its normal hue of earthy brown. She clutched the plate so hard it burst into tiny bits, piercing her skin. Droplets of crimson blood now dotted our immaculate kitchen floor.

“Don’t be so mad, babe.” I inhaled deeply, allowing that intoxicating air to enter my system. The stick’s glow matched the earlier color of her eye.

“How could you say that?” she hissed.

“We’ve been in hiding all these years. Nobody but those on the inside knows where we live.”

Suddenly, I tensed. In one fluid movement, I took out a gun from the drawer.

“Someone’s coming.”

–to be continued?

© Kate Yu 2008. Not to be reproduced without permission of the author.

Photo by Encamcito

Other short stories:

Sex with Fairies

Dinner with Shakespeare

Share this:

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

16 thoughts on “The Devil Wants You Dead – 1

    • Kate says:

      Glad you liked it. 😉 I did this on the spur of the moment and the words
      just flowed. I have no idea where this is going to lead me, but something
      tells me I’m going to be surprised.

  1. Zoe says:

    And your dark side tumbles out! I’m intrigued… writing has a bizarre way of luring in the morbid, the inexplicable. That’s what I love about it.

    By the way, thanks for your warm wishes about my trip — it was wonderful! We actually ended up spending the trip on Sumatra. Getting home was an ordeal (thanks to the Bangkok protests), but I made it :).

    • Kate says:

      How are you Zoe?? Glad that you made it home safely.

      My friend wants to go to Bangkok for the holiday but because of the turmoil
      of the NGOs, she decided against it. Were you stranded in the airport?

      You must write about your Indonesia trip someday. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

