The Devil Wants You Dead – 5

If you want to read thgun-and-cigarette-noir1is series from the beginning, click here. See all parts below.

That one moment of surprise was all it took. He quickly grabbed Susie and fled.

I rushed outside but it was too late. There was no trace of them.

“Suuuusie!!!” I screamed her name into the empty abyss but nobody answered me.

*

Charlie was inside his little kingdom –his kindergarten room. It was filled with bright alphabet letters, smurfs, Donald Ducks and other sickening paraphernalia.

He was teaching those six year olds the BINGO song when I snuck up from behind. I jabbed my gun hidden inside my jacket against his back and whispered, “Give me a reason why I shouldn’t kill you right now for fucking my wife.”

“Okay kiddos, time to get your play doh out.” His cheerful voice didn’t waver a bit. You had to admire Charlie for his calmness. He was not the type to piss his pants in a life threatening situation.

His students shot curious glances at me while taking out their little jars of clay. I grinned back.

He turned to me. I was unshaven. I had cuts everywhere and my wrinkled shirt was untucked from my pants. “You stink.”

“I think my odor should be the least of your concerns.” He was holding me by the elbow, leading me into the teacher’s room. No one was there. He locked the door.

“How long have you known?” he asked, looking at the shiny chrome knob.

“Some time.”

Charlie didn’t try to deny it. He raised his eyes to look at me. They held but one emotion. “I love her,” he said. Just like that. So fucking simple. I wanted to smash his boyish face into the window over and over again for just saying that, see it scarred for life and piss all over it. I would like to see his blood in my hands.

But I needed him.

“Susie’s been kidnapped.”

His knees buckled.

“You didn’t know? That means that son of a bitch hasn’t killed her yet.”

“Who did it?”

“Johnson.”

“Fuck! This is no time to be joking, John!”

“Shit, Charlie. You know I don’t believe in ghosts.”

“You said so yourself you saw him.”

I waved the gun around. “I think it looked like him. It was just a fraction of a second. The lightning could’ve been playing tricks with me. I was under a lot of stress.” I looked at him pointedly. “A whole lot of stress.”

He didn’t flinch. “You knew this day would come. Retribution. You can’t escape God’s judgment.”

I laughed. “So God brought back the dead to torment us?” I stepped closer to him. “So you think Ben deserved to die? How about Susie? Would you like to see her tongue pulled out too?”

I saw his fist tighten. He wanted to punch me. Good. I wanted him to so I could forget the pain for a moment. Knock me out, you lying scumbag.

I took a deep breath and tried to put my thoughts in order. No, this won’t help my two faced cheating wife at all. God, I still love her. How pathetic.

I lit up a stick and inhaled deeply.

“This is a no smoking zone.”

“Fuck you. But then you already did that to my wife.” I exhaled. “Call the nuthouse.”

“Why don’t you do it?”

“I don’t exactly keep phone numbers of mental cases now, don’t I? Especially those who were once your former accomplices in murder. I know you keep tabs on him,” I said. “Since you were the one who put him there in the first place.”

He reached for the phone and dialed the number of the mental asylum. He spoke to someone for a few minutes and then his whole body went rigid. He replaced the receiver and turned to me. I had never seen him look so pale and frightened.

“David’s escaped.”

To be continued

Photo by federico

Related Posts:

The Devil Wants You Dead – 1

The Devil Wants You Dead – 2

The Devil Wants You Dead – 3

The Devil Wants You Dead – 4

12 thoughts on “The Devil Wants You Dead – 5

  1. frcreditrepair says:

    I am so glad to have happened on this site. This series has been great. I feel like I have to get them all together and read again.

  2. Sal says:

    Kate, yet another fantastic snipit. I love how you are weaving this all together. The development is awesome. I would have to say the ending is my favorite part…

    He reached for the phone and dialed the number of the mental asylum. He spoke to someone for a few minutes and then his whole body went rigid. He replaced the receiver and turned to me. I had never seen him look so pale and frightened.

    “David’s escaped.”

    WHO IS DAVID???? I want to know now. And why was he in the asylum. How did he escape, what does he look like, what is he going to do next, who are his enemies…gosh, the list just goes on and on. I feel as though I am slowly pulling this string out and I want the whole ball of yarn to unravel faster, just so I can see how all the strands come together to form a bigger picture.

    Great job! I expect the full hard cover story on my doorstep in 3, weeks signed by you of course. 😉

  3. Bobby Revell says:

    Hello Kate! I read the entire series and have enjoyed the ride thus far. I happened upon Matthew’s site today and I’ve seen you around in a few places – the point being I’m disgustingly happy to have found two horror writers I can actually read without wanting to turn up the TV. I am here now, and I brought my razors – more than that, I brought my thirst – my unquenchable desire to peel flesh and enjoy some putrid killing…LOL!

    Writing sickening murder too long has tempted me to – no I will not – I am addicted to loving a character and enjoying their feeble begging for mercy as I devour the catharsis of death – or so I want others to consider.

    Your story is really fast paced and began with a sense of chaos – and has continued in the same velocity. I enjoyed the sex scene and it played nicely into the atmosphere of a bunch of amped up, adrenalin charged psychos on a roller coaster headed downhill. For some reason, I don’t sense a happy ending.

    I passionately love writing and will do it regardless of being paid. I find writing dark insanity to be a calming force and stress relief. Anyway, I don’t have any horror writing friends and I look forward to getting to know you and your work. 🙂

    • Kate says:

      @ Sal: Everyone wants to know David. Hell, even *I *want to know him. He’s
      still at the back of my mind, formless, but waiting crouching, laughing like
      a hyena on coke.

      Don’t point a gun at me yet. All questions will be answered in due time.
      David’s gonna come out soon, real soon. I wanna get him right because he’s
      more interesting than any character in the series.

      When the entire story’s done, I’ll be sure to send you a soft copy and
      anyone else who wants it of course. I’ll try my very best to get a virtual
      signature. 😉 Remind me. I tend to be forgetful when I get to the end. I’m
      not sure yet on how I react when I’ll say goodbye to these characters.

      @ Bobby: Welcome Bobby! I’m truly glad you’re enjoying the series and thank
      you, thank you for the review. It’s not often I get any of those. It’s truly
      a great honor for a writer to have wean any reader away from the T.V. It
      means we’ve won with our pen. It’s not often that we get to win against the
      powerful clutches of the tube.

      We must get together and chat sometimes especially if you’ve bumped into me
      in the blogosphere. Finally, a fan who’s willing to see flesh melt away and
      one with razors to boot. I hope I won’t disappoint you.

      As to writing, I just got back from interviewing someone for a magazine. The
      pay is not quite you’d call stellar but heck, I thought in the beginning I
      wasn’t even going to see a sign of a paycheck. You’re just willing to do
      something regardless of pay even though it’ll rob you of your time and
      talent. Now that’s what I call passion.

      @ frcreditrepair: Reading a second time won’t hurt. Just don’t get
      nightmares. 😀

  4. Bobby Revell says:

    Good luck with your interview Kate! I’ll definitely be reading and hope you pay me a visit to enjoy some of my twisted shades of sickness. I am struggling with decisions on my own blog. I have built a hefty reader base, but have yet to reveal my most potent horror. I know in my heart, I will lose most of them if I unleash fully as it is truly sick – so I control my urge and am saving it to be revealed in my novel.

    I’m often perplexed that my “filler” articles about blogging tips, SEO and other such drivel receive big attention, while my fiction is often overlooked by self-serving bloggers only looking to gain for themselves. Am I cynical? No…I am honest.

    • Kate says:

      I was indeed planning to drop by and savor your posts thoroughly. Any chance
      to discover other passionate writers. I just haven’t made much of a dent in
      marking these papers yet (I’m a teacher).

      I’ve browsing through your blog now and you do indeed have a sizeable
      readership especially those ‘filler’ articles. I too am at a loss that my
      fiction will never get as much readership as my travel articles which were
      done on a whim. 😦

      Do hope that novel will come out soon which might be a bit hard since you’re
      a perfectionist.

    • Kate says:

      In the end what’ll happen eventually during a dark stormy night amidst
      psychopaths and glaring stone angels behind a backdrop of an abandoned
      graveyard is that Charlie and —–

      Never mind. I don’t want to give anything away. 😉

      Just stay tuned Melissa. All will be revealed in due time. I do love the
      alternative that you posted though.

Leave a Reply

