How to Start Your New Year Right — Not with a Bang!

5-ways-to-ease-into-the-new-year-womenonfire.com-blog

They say how you start your year dictates the rest of it.

It’s not.

Contrary to much popular belief, starting your year with a bang is not the way to go. You want to do all these projects – lose weight, start a new course, increase your sales, start your own business. The reality is that you cannot possibly get the results you want because you are just starting to decompress from the holidays —-of long days entertaining your family and friends, of stuffing yourself, of taking a break from your normal 9-5 routine. The last thing you need is to jump headfirst into a hot spring when you haven’t dipped your toes in first. You’re just going to burn yourself out. So many times I’ve heard of stories of people flocking into the gym on the 2nd of January. Come 3rd of January the gym will be half full. Once the second week rolls by, you’ll see only a handful of the newcomers there.

Don’t be one of those people.

I used to start my year with a big bang of my goals. In 2012, I quit my job, move to Chile, South America, file the paperwork to migrate to New Zealand and become a freelance writer. I took all these projects at once that by the time March rolled in, I was starting to get burned out. Eventually when June comes springing in, I did these projects in a half assed manner. Worse, I had lost interest in them. Eventually, I did manage to achieve all my goals. But I wasn’t satisfied when they were done because I had spread myself too thin or did not give them the focus they deserve.

This year I thought I’d do something different.

This 2014 is the year where for the first time I am quite unsure how my life will take place. It will probably hold my second third year for not having a steady job.  The thing is I make such a dedicated effort to concretize so many goals in January that I invest too much time and effort in them, often thinking, “This is it. This is my road to success.” Instead I tried so hard in making them work when I should have given them a 30 day trial. That way I could have saved so much time and effort.

This year I am going to ease into January. Decompress from the holidays and see what was on my plate. Try one thing at a time for 30 days and see if it is what I wanted. Because I realize I can never predict whether I like the project or not until I do it.

So far the thing on my plate is after my holiday here in the States is to go home to the Philippines and look for a job. And only after that will I look and try to see the shape of what the rest of my year will look like.

So to sum it up my experiment for this 2014 is:

  1. Do not start my year with a bang.
  2. Ease into January.
  3. Check my current situation and what I can do about it
  4. Try one project for 30 days and see if I like it
  5. Judging from the results, plan the next two months.

I will update you on the results.

Image credit

2 thoughts on “How to Start Your New Year Right — Not with a Bang!

Leave a Reply

