Space Week: NASA Rocket Launching and Blood Moons

blood moon
Image credit

The other Thursday Mr Z and I went to the NASA Kennedy Space Center in northern Florida to view a rocket launch. It was my first time to ever see a NASA space station. When I was living in the Philippines, I’d never thought I’d touch NASA soil and here I am. We all gathered in the bleachers to watch the launching. We heard a rumble in the air, a slight tingling of the atmosphere and whoosh!! the rocket blasted off to space — so to speak.

 

Whoosh! Away it goes!

Whoosh! Away it goes!

It went by pretty fast. I thought it would be more of an epic slow motion – the stuff you see in the movies where the rocket spectacularly blasts off mountains of fire and fuel and gradually lifts off releasing plumes of smoke and ashes as it flies to an Icaresque arc into the skies. Then I realized if that happened in real life, the rocket might as well collapse on its side if it ever lifts off that slow.

 

launched into space - so to speak

launched into space – so to speak

 

left a trail of smoke

left a trail of smoke

NASA rocket launching actually happens once every month as they either blasts spy satellite or cargo into space. That kind of took the fun and wonder out of it as I thought rocket launching was like a once-in-a-lifetime thing. But still, I’m pretty glad I saw a rocket launch for the first time ever in my life. Something to tick off the bucket list aside from being in North Korea.

 

rockets on display at NASA space station

rockets on display at NASA space station

space shuttle boosters

space shuttle boosters

* **

In the wee hours of Tuesday, I saw a blood moon for the second time in my life. It was actually the first of the lunar Tetrad – a series of 4 lunar eclipses in a 6 month interval that will occur from April 2014 to September 2015. That’s pretty cool!

The blood  moon could only be seen in North and South America. Luckily, we were in South Florida. At 4am, Mr Z and I groggily got ourselves out of bed and climbed up to the roof to see our moon the color of red bean with the shining mustard colored Mars (the brightest I’ve ever seen the Red Planet) dancing alongside the moon.

the beautiful lunar eclipse

the beautiful lunar eclipse

Image credit

phases of lunar eclipse

phases of lunar eclipse

Coincidentally, the first blood moon occurred during the first day of Jewish Passover Seder which I celebrated for the first time that day (“Come in Elijah!).  And you can tell the newspapers were having a field day with the apocalyptic doom and gloom.

"The end times are coming!! The end times are coming!"

“The end times are coming!! The end times are coming!”

Image Credit and Image Credit 2

Leave a Reply

