Visiting Gundam Robot in Tokyo, Japan

I’ve visited Japan 3x and often managed to miss seeing the iconic huge Gundam robot in Tokyo.

Why was that?

I really wanted to see this robot the first time I visit Tokyo in 2010.  When I finally trekked all the way to Odaiba at 5pm, they had already covered the robot so I missed it. Drat!

The last couple of times I went to Japan, I always went to Osaka because that’s where my friends were. Even if I were in Tokyo it’s still a bit out of the way to go to Odaiba Island where the Gundam Robot stands. It’s a half hour ride from central Tokyo. You take the train to Shimbashi station. From there, you take a monorail to Daiba Station via the Yurikamome line. You can’t see the Yurikamome line to Odaiba on your Tokyo subway map.

Tokyo Bay- the scenic view on the Yurikamome line

Tokyo Bay- the scenic view on the Yurikamome line

Odaiba Island is a futuristic island where they have lots of walkways and malls. They have a small car museum, a maritime museum (currently closed), a Ferriss wheel and a small ramen theme park restaurant in Aqua City mall. The best attraction of course is the Gundam Robot.

And it doesn’t disappoint.

I finally got to see it!

I finally got to see it!

So did Mr Z

So did Mr Z

The back of the Gundam. In reality, that jet wouldn't be able to lift the heavy robot to the sky.

The back of the Gundam. In reality, that jet wouldn’t be able to lift the heavy robot to the sky.

IMG_3801

Big feet

Futuristic Obaiba Island

Futuristic Obaiba Island

Ramen theme park in Aqua City

Ramen theme park in Aqua City

Itadakimasu! Yum!

Itadakimasu! Yum!

4 thoughts on “Visiting Gundam Robot in Tokyo, Japan

Leave a Reply

