Bargaining in the Bazaar in Istanbul

IMG_6678

We took a dive inside one of Turkey’s bazaars. It was inside an old building and full of shops.

IMG_6683

The bazaar was full of assorted items from clothes to spices like these. It is a little more expensive compared to the bazaars in Morocco and people would not go down in price too much.

I did do some serious haggling with one beautifully gold illustrated page/painting of Noah’s Ark. There were a few people selling these so I knew I could bargain with the price. The first price quoted was $80 which I thought was too much.

The man must have seen the look in my face because he became flexible on the price and asked me how much I wanted.

“$20.”

He smiled. “Give me a higher price.”

I refused to budge. I didn’t have much money anyway. I stuck to my original price. His price fell down more and more. I started to walk away. I wasn’t interested that much because I had planned on giving it to someone. Furiously, he asked me to come back and offered me $20.

Alleluia!

When bargaining, remember to stick to your original price or have a budget in mind and if the seller doesn’t meet it prepare to walk away. You might have to walk a way for real a few times but you have to be prepared not to buy it.

Noah's Ark

Here’s the beautiful page.  From $80 to $20 – a good deal!

 

 

Leave a Reply

