Baseball in Japan is an Experience

I’ve never quite enjoyed a baseball game. Coming from the Philippines, it was never a popular sport and I didn’t understand it. Dating Mr Z who is a lover of baseball, I decided I’d try to get the hang of the bats, umpires, first and fourth innings. After watching two games, I was still scratching my head. I’d never understand what the big allure of baseball was.

Until Japan.

Japan was a ball changer.

The fans/spectators played a major part of Japanese baseball. We just didn’t cheer. We sing and we even do choreography.

IMG_5362

Fans dress outrageously

 

We watched the Hanshin Tigers from Osaka. When it was the Tigers turn to bat, a guy climbed on a box and faced the audience. He started shouting like he was a captain. Suddenly, flags rose and drums and horns started playing. Fans lifted their paraphernalia (see below) and everyone went wild.

Fans get ready

“Let’s go!” Fans get ready

 

There was a choreographed cheering, singing and shouting like never before. We were the whole cheering squad and if you don’t know the chants and songs…. well, you were bound to know now.

In the seventh inning, everyone got out and blew their balloons.

Get ready

Get ready

 

IMG_5383

and let them go to the sky

 

IMG_5370

The audience holds their breath

In the end, the Hanshin Tigers won against DNA. It was a close race too. I didn’t think the Tigers would score at the last inning but they did.

There was such a cheering and crying as never before.

We won! (check out the Japanese guy with the pin)

Japan has spoiled me. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to a regular non Japanese baseball game again.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

